Troy King Erotica

Awesome erotica for awesome adults only

Question for anyone who cares to answer

So, most of my work has been primarily femdom erotica.  It’s a fun field to explore, and I certainly enjoy writing it and will continue to write it in the future, but it’s not all I want to write.

Is it offensive to readers if a writer switches things up?  I certainly don’t want to offend (what little) fan base I have, but I also have other plans for my characters.  Don’t worry, someone will get tied up in every story, that’s too much fun to write about, but it may not always be women tying up men.

4 comments on “Question for anyone who cares to answer

  1. writingthebody
    July 17, 2014

    You should write whatever you like. I think sometimes we write to find things out….and if you artificially cut a bit off, then you restrict what you can find.

    Like

    • tkingauthor
      July 19, 2014

      I wholeheartedly agree. I definitely don’t want to artificially restrict myself, but I also don’t want to alienate the few fans I have.

      Like

  2. katanastoy
    July 18, 2014

    The risk is that readers can expect work from the same author to be all be of the same genre, so it may be useful to ensure new works of a different genre do indicate the genre change. I am sure some readers would follow the author anyway, whilst there may be other reader who wish to stay with the same genre

    Like

  3. tkingauthor
    July 19, 2014

    This is kind of what worries me. Writing erotica isn’t like writing adventure or a different genre; the subgenres are what entertains people. Since these stories are basically sexual fantasies even a switch from femdom to maledom may be a huge turn-off to some readers. I’m guessing, I’ll probably just write different works, anyway, and make sure I’m pretty clear in the description what the reader can expect. I just hope I don’t alienate anyone or make them think the switch is permanent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2014 by in Random thoughts and tagged , , , .

Archives

Follow Troy King Erotica on WordPress.com
