Troy King Erotica

Awesome erotica for awesome adults only

Gender Swaps, Futanari, and the Fluidity of Gender

I think it’s telling that among the first comments Caitlyn Jenner got after her successful change amounted to “Congrats, but you’re not really pretty enough.”  Of course, these comments were punctuated by screams of horror about just how abhorrent her actions were, and seasoned with a large helping of “You look great!”

All in all, a pretty mixed bag.

Truth be told, I had kind of expected the screams of horror.  Too many people in this country fall into the binary gender trap and any change from that norm is greeted with everything from skepticism to outright rage.  I also expected the “You look great comments”, there’s a large enough amount of the population that aren’t complete assholes to make that inevitable.  Of course, there’s a large and very vocal portion of the population that hates everything and can’t keep their big mouths shut.

This-is-an-outrage-570x445

You know, like these guys.

What shocked me were the comments that amounted to congrats but you’re just not pretty enough.  As if a woman’s only value in American society is tied to how she looks and, let’s face facts here, how big her tits are.  So let’s say she’s got a nice rack.  The next thing you know she’s pigeon-holed as a slut or a bimbo.  If she doesn’t have a nice rack, she’s pigeon-holed as ugly and, therefore, of limited value to society at large.

1430357745678

Not exactly business appropriate attire, but you get the point.  Besides, I like this picture.

It’s got to suck to be a woman in American society; there’s just no way to win.  So, for any women who come across this post, you’ve got my sympathy.  It’s a shit sandwich and I wish it was different.

Way back when I first started writing erotica I started out doing some femdom stories, largely because it was somewhat interesting and it seemed like a relatively untapped market.  So I wrote a few and worked forward from there.  Eventually I pushed toward the idea of cross dressing to see where that would wind up.  Those stories (The Punishment Part I, The Punishment Part II, and Hallow’s Eve) became the collected works I like to think of as the Minerva files.  Hallow’s Eve really marked my departure from the femdom world and I started tracking into some other areas.  It’s not that I don’t like writing those stories, it’s more that I feel like I said what I wanted to say and decided to go do something else.  Eventually I’ll go back there, but I’m having more fun with sci-fi for the time being.

Tardis-Dress

Her dress is the Tardis. Your argument is invalid.

Anyway, the first blog review I got from any of my erotica was for The Punishment and it came from Bending the Bookshelf.  In fact, you can check it out here if you’d like to.  I still check out Bending the Bookshelf every now and then and follow Sally Bend on Google Plus.  You can find me on Google Plus but I’ll admit, I’m terrible at checking it.  It’s actually much nicer than Facebook, but it’s still kind of a blind spot in my vision.

During one of my rare ventures into Google Plus I saw Bending the Bookshelf had listed a whack of free Friday stories so, me being cheap, I grabbed a few of them.  The stories all followed similar themes of gender swap (something I touched on in 2.0) and futa stories.  In other words, stories that explored the fluidity of gender.  The gender swap stories focused mostly on men being turned into women, sometimes against their will, sometimes not.  The futa stories (short for futanari, the Japanese term for a person with aspects of both genders – usually women with huge dicks) focused on the women who fell for other women with with huge tits and huge dicks.

She did say be quiet in the library.

She did say be quiet in the library and it’s not polite to talk with your mouth full.

The futa stories included Reed James’s Punishing the Maid: Maid for Futas 1 and Pearl N. Lace’s Discretionary Maid Service.  I also came across a few gender swap stories in the form of BJ Slippy’s Gender Bender Curse Bundle.  All of the stories worked off the idea of non-binary gender.  The futas were beautiful women with huge cocks.  BJ Slippy’s stories all rotated around men who changed into women for some reason or another, usually as a punishment.

The thing is, I don’t know that being changed into a woman is much of a punishment.  Different body, same motivations.  Gender isn’t exactly a binary thing.  We prefer to think women are women and must like men and men are men and must like women, but the reality is gender is a much more fluid dynamic with lots of ranges.  Sure, there are some people who exclusively follow the traditional model (and can’t seem to shut up about it), but there are more people fit in different places along the spectrum and, if they’d admit it themselves, might find that a single point on the spectrum doesn’t exactly describe them.  Just like some people like to submit sometimes and be in charge sometimes, there are people out there who may find a turn on in something one day and it doesn’t do a damned thing for them the next day.

The gender bending stories are all fun, fascinating reads.  Personally I’ve never written about true gender bending, but the Punishment, the Punishment Part II, and Hallow’s Eve all worked off cross-dressing and feminization, so I’m probably not too far from the gender swapping stories.  Hallow’s Eve also marked my first foray into witchcraft, a theme I’d like to explore more in the future.

I guess that’s the fun thing about erotica, you can explore any theme you want to.

As a side note, I started this post quite a while back but it sort of fell onto the back burner for a month or so.  Since I started it, I have actually started and finished a femdom short and am still working on Jane’s sequel, which will examine technology, bondage, and politics of submission in a far flung future.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2015 by in Book Reviews, Random thoughts and tagged , , .

Archives

Follow Troy King Erotica on WordPress.com
